My Time Machine

Daniel Cardle, 2003

I love these Daily Prompts that The Daily Post delivers to its fellow bloggers. Sometimes they are mundane and boring, basic enough to get juices flowing, but I really liked the blogaday post from yesterday:

Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

Hmm…a time machine?! That sounds nifty, with a twist. The curiosity in me screams, “Duh! Go to the future!” And while getting a glimpse into the future does sound enticing, I think I’d rather take a closer look at history, and travel into various points of the past. (Plus, who wants spoiler alerts to how this fabulous story called “LIFE” turns out?!)

Now, I’m not sure how time machines work, but I am considering that when you step into this time machine, you are not removing yourself from the present, and therefore can witness events from one minute ago all the way back to the beginning of time (without altering those events, of course). There are so many moments in history I would travel to, that I have narrowed my extremely broad list of over 100 historical moments – including some personal ones – to just six. Bear with me.

1. My wedding day in 2011. Best. Day. Ever. Who wouldn’t want to travel back to the best day of their lives?!

2. My first day of teaching in 2007. I would go back and watch a terrified twenty-something meet her very first students for the first time and wonder how in the world she was ever going to impart knowledge on these aspiring, impressionable fourth graders.

3. January 20, 1981, Ronald Reagan’s Presidential Inauguration and Inaugural Address. “It is time for us to realize that we’re too great a nation to limit ourselves to small dreams…We have every right to dream heroic dreams.” The Great Communicator had great plans for this great nation and with his leadership, got the U.S. out of many jams (only for future presidents and wars to restore in the future, sadly).

4. February 9, 1964, the day the Beatles rocked out on the Ed Sullivan Show. I’ve heard of Beatle Mania and I really would want to witness that day (and compare it to the boy band craze of the 2000’s and today). Plus, I’d love to travel back to the 60’s…it seemed like such a gas!

5. The Roaring Twenties. Yup, thanks to the glorification of dancing, drinking and debauchery in F. Scott Fitzgerald’s “The Great Gatsby” and the Broadway musical, “Chicago,” I have always been curious about what it must have been like to be a flapper living in “All That Jazz.”

6. Moving out west in the 1870’s. Being raised in the suburbs of Detroit, I think I’m a city girl at heart; but I would have loved to meet Laura Ingalls Wilder and experience living out west on a prairie (or in the Big Woods) during the mid-1800’s. I loved all of her “Little House…” books and think I could have actually been a country girl if that is where I had been raised. Give me some open land, a few goats and a couple pigs, and I’d be a happy camper.

This is the short list, obviously, of moments and places in history I would travel. Where would you go if you could travel to another place and moment in time? Would you go to the past or journey into the future?

Leave a Reply

