Loving What I Do

I recently had a conversation with my sister-in-law about TV shows. The fall lineup starts on Monday (a few shows have already begun) and she was so excited to start enjoying some of her favorite programs again.

I remember a time when I looked forward to my favorite fall TV shows. That time is a thing of the past. Now, I look forward to getting home at a decent hour so I can write lesson plans, grade papers, and do other miscellaneous tasks after I cook dinner and go for my daily walk/run with my husband. Sadly, one of my favorite hobbies, reading books for leisure, has become a weekend activity only. And I get to do my other relaxing hobby – crocheting blankets and scarves – maybe once or twice a week when I’m not passing out on the couch after an excruciatingly long day.

But missing TV shows (other than Survivor and Downton Abbey…I will NOT miss those!) is okay…because I LOVE what I do. I love setting my alarm at 5:15 so I can talk with other educators via Twitter in the the #BFC530 spark chat. I love getting to school early so I can clean my classroom so my students walk in to a clean and organized learning environment. I love putting 100% of my energy into my lessons and students’ discipline so that I know I am making a difference in their lives. I love making rigorous assessments that challenge my students’ thinking and makes them feel confident and accomplished when they get a C or better. I love collaborating with educators and administrators after school to bring technology to life into the classroom. I love making #GoodCallsHome to make hard-working parents feel successful in raising stubborn, emotional teens. Even though this is the hardest I have ever worked and I will dearly miss my fall TV shows, it’s ok because I am loving what I do.

Leave a Reply

