What is a Meme?

OK, I will admit it: I can be quite oblivious sometimes. The reason I say this is because I was just recently (very recently) introduced to the definition of an Internet meme. (I know, I know. Where have I been, right?)

For those of you as oblivious as I, the word “meme” means “a virally-transmitted cultural symbol or social idea” (thanks, Paul Gil at about.com).  Add the word “Internet” in front of it, and you have a new social media phenomenon!

As I’m sure you are aware, memes have been around for awhile. I’ve seen a growing abundance of them on Pinterest, Cheezburger, etc….Ryan Gosling, Willy Wonka, the Awkward Penguin, and all those clever cats and dogs. But it never occurred to me that the captioned photos – or so-called memes – were being created by the millions of people everyday!

So, I decided to join the realm of meme creators and generate my own. In a matter of minutes, I came up with a meme that I felt would reach most math educators on a personal level:

I created this Meme at http://memegenerator.net

Have you created any educational memes – specifically math or just in general? I’d love to see them, so please share!

2 thoughts on “What is a Meme?”

Leave a Reply

