Who is That Math Lady?

Where did That Math Lady come from and who is this new edublogger on the block, That Math Lady? Continue reading to find out!

I hit the jackpot when it comes to husbands.

What would your significant other’s reaction be if you came home from work one day and said you were quitting your job to focus all of your energy on creating a math website (which, by the way, you have very little experience in doing) just to help out other teachers and students in math?

Some of you might say, “My husband would be skeptical,” or “Yeah, right, my wife would never let me quit my job!” Mine? Downright supportive. Our conversation went a little something like this:

 “Hi, Sweetheart, I came up with a great idea today! I’m going to start an education website – and a blog – about math…”

[Silence.]

“… and this project is going to take a lot of time and commitment, so I will have to quit teaching…”

[More silence.]

“…but I’m really excited to do this! I’m going to be, like, That Math Lady!”

And after briefly internalizing his wife’s hysterical burst of insanity, my husband gave me a hug and simply said, “OK. Do it.”

And with those three little words, That Math Lady was born.

This all came about when I was in my fifth year of teaching in an elementary school near Charlotte, North Carolina (a beautiful city, for those of you interested in travel and have never visited). Like most teachers, I starting to feel that common burn-out sensation plus a healthy dose of anxiety with every little curriculum change that was being thrown at me. I had studied the new Common Core State Standards for months and knew that the pending implementation of these standards would be yet another mammoth of a change in curriculum. If I was going to continue teaching in the classroom, I would need some extra support; and I was sure there were other teachers out there who felt just like me. My thought: why not be the one to help these other educators? And while I’m at it, why not support the students, too?! They need as much guidance, if not more!

And the name, you ask? Well, I could have come up with something very witty, I’m sure. But I just wanted something simple and to the point. It doesn’t get much simpler than That Math Lady!

My website, http://www.thatmathlady.com, will be up and running on September 1. It is my greatest pleasure to start helping – and blogging with – teachers and students soon!

Leave a Reply

